Contact Information

Clerk of the House

Tel.No: (784) 451-2494/457-1872
PBX No: (784) 456-1111
ext: 379/380

(784) 457-1825


House of Assembly
Court House Building
White Chapel Road
St.Vincent & the Grenadines


Composition of Parliament

The word Parliament comes from a French word ‘parlement’ which signifies a place of speaking. Parliament therefore is essentially a place of speaking.

The Parliament of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines is modelled on that of the British Parliament.  However, whereas Britain has two Houses of Parliament: the House of Commons and the House of Lords, which together with the Queen, make up Parliament; our Parliament is comprised of the House of Assembly and the Governor-General.

At present the House of Assembly consists of a total of twenty-three members. These include fifteen (15) elected members (Representatives), six (6) Senators, the Attorney-General and the Speaker of the House.  The membership of the House may vary,  because, as is the case now, the Attorney-General, who is a Public Servant, and the Speaker of the House, may be elected from outside of the House.  In any case they are always regarded as members of the House.



It is notified for general information that the meeting of the House of Assembly scheduled for Tuesday 23rd May, 2017 at 10:00 am. has been rescheduled to Tuesday 6th June, 2017 at 10:00 am.